Skip to content

Tell me what to read.

July 14, 2010
tags:

I got my results! They were only 4 days late. I did well enough to get into the Masters course I want to do! Which makes up for the fact that I failed the data entry test for a near minimum wage job I applied for.

I decided not to do any serious reading until after I got my results, so of course I got very bored. But now I can read non-fiction! I’m going to start with Reclaiming the F-Word.

What else should I read? I’m going to study gender history, and I’m vaguely thinking of doing my Master’s thesis on something oral history based. However, this summer is a chance for me to read other things, so tell me your favourite books on your interests. I’m going to try to not buy many books, but I live very near a legal deposit library so I can get hold of pretty much anything that’s been published in the UK.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 11:08 am

    I’m going to try to not buy many books

    Hahahahaha! Good luck with that 🙂 Also, congratulations again. Can I tell Mum? She’ll no doubt tell me how proud she is of you (and, if I’m very lucky, how proud she is of me!).

  2. July 14, 2010 3:27 pm

    One of my favorite books last year was Annette Gordon’s The Hemingses of Monticello, which was an excellent history of the slave family owned by Thomas Jefferson. It’s not just about Sally Hemings, the mother of several of his children, but also about her mother, grandmother, and children. It won last year’s Pulitzer for history. I wrote about it here.

  3. kirstente permalink*
    July 14, 2010 9:42 pm

    Rach – Yes, tell your mum! It’s nice to have people proud of me. And I was very good today, I only bought one book. Even though I looked in the gender history section. The only way I managed to walk away without spending a silly amount of money was to write down the titles of books so I could put in stack requests for them later. I want Spongberg, Caine and Curthoys’ Companion to Women’s Historical Writing so badly.

    RMJ – That sounds really interesting, I shall look it up. I don’t know much about American history, but that sounds like a good starting point. Thanks!

  4. July 14, 2010 10:37 pm

    I’m really a fan of James Burke and his series Connections.

  5. July 14, 2010 11:21 pm

    Very well done. 😀

  6. kirstente permalink*
    July 16, 2010 9:41 pm

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

