Skip to content

Librarians are cool.

June 28, 2010
tags:
Especially the ones at my old secondary school, although I’ve only realised that recently. The upper school library had Marilyn French’s The Women’s Room, Germaine Greer’s The Female Eunuch* and The L-Shaped Room trilogy by Lynn Reid Banks. I’m also fairly certain that both Oranges are not the only fruit and Tipping the Velvet were on a list of recommended books they gave out. Those are just the ones I remember.

In retrospect, I’m really grateful that I was learning in an environment were the reading of those kinds of books was not just permitted, but actively encouraged.

*Some of the views she puts forward in this work, and some of the ideas I got from it are really, really problematic. But I have to admit that it was an important influence on my feminism.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

