Skip to content

Excitement, Adventure and Really Wild Things

June 25, 2010

… is what I’m hoping to get from Sheffield Pride, which I go to tomorrow, after first scampering to John Lewis, who have a sale on wool. Priorities: I has them.

In other news, Kirsten’s house is very nice, and she was a fantastic host as ever and had bought my favourite tea; I didn’t eat all her food; and I’m now home and my corriander plants are not dead!

I also saw my brother for his birthday (he’s 9 now, and – because he likes talking to me about maths – he’s a bit miffed that his birthday is now only a square number, rather than a cubed number). Incidentally, he and my father were trying to make a mathematical football team. Any constant symbol counts, but the natural numbers (1, 2, etc) don’t. So far, we’ve thought of infinity, pi*, e and i. I reckon that 0 counts, since it’s a concept as well as an integer, but now I’m a bit stumped. Any suggestions?

*pi is a really useful word in scrabble, too!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2010 7:17 pm

    If you want constant symbols, you’re better off asking a physicist or chemist.

    That said, you can have c (which is the cardinality of the Real numbers), aleph naught (which is the cardinality of the natural numbers).

    Some of the roots of unity might have symbols too.

  2. June 27, 2010 3:19 pm

    Good thinking, batman 🙂

Leave a Reply

