Skip to content

Fluff.

June 3, 2010

Because I referenced it in my exam this afternoon –

It counts as feminist because she gets to wear trousers at the end. Background – Molly has loved Roger forever. He has been very stupid, and is about to leave on a scientific journey to Africa. There has been scarlet fever in his family, which Molly has never had, so he has been forbidden by her father (a doctor) from seeing her.

ETA – Now with transcript of the most important bit, up to 5 minutes in.

Young woman in simple Victorian dress (Molly) sits reading a letter while a more elaborately dressed older woman (Mrs. Gibson) walks behind her.

Mrs Gibson: Oh, such a gloomy day. (Walks to window) I really think Cynthia should have written to me first, after all the trouble that I took over her trousseau. Molly, Molly look who’s that man wrapped in a cloak there? By the park wall, under the beech tree. He’s been there for half an hour. He’s been looking at this house all that time. I think it’s very suspicious.

(Molly goes to window too. We see a handsome young man in cloak and top hat standing forlornly in the rain.)

Molly: Why, it’s Roger. Look, he’s waving, he’s kissing his hand to us! He’s saying goodbye.

Mrs G.:Oh, how romantic! It reminds me of my former days. Goodbye! Goodbye! (Energetically waves and kisses her hand to him.) He’ll be late for the coach. I must send him on his way. (Knocks on wondow and gestures for him to leave.)

(Molly runs to lower window, and kisses her hand to him as he leaves, then sadly returns to other room.)

Mrs G. :This little attention of Roger’s reminds me very forcibly of a charming young man I used to know. Lieutenant Harper. He was devoted to me when I was seventeen. And when the regiment was ordered to another town, poor Lieutenant Harper, do you know?, he came and stood opposite the school-room.

(Molly gets up and leaves the room.)

Mrs G. :Molly? Where are you going?

(Molly runs through rain. Roger boards the coach. Molly gets to coach station just as it leaves.)

Roger (off-screen) : I couldn’t go.

(Roger and Molly stand about a metre apart, getting very wet fro the rain.)

Roger: I couldn’t go without…Molly, do I still have a chance with you.

Molly: Yes.

Roger: I’ve been such a fool, I know I… Yes!

Molly: Yes.

Roger: I had so much I had prepared to say to you. I should have seen it was you that I truly loved, even before. You mean it?

Molly: Yes.

Roger: I mustn’t come any closer, I promised your father.

Molly: Yes, I know.

Roger: Molly, dear Molly, will you be my wife?

Molly: Yes. Yes, I will. Yes.

(They both grin)

(The wedding breakfast, which includes the brilliant line, ‘Well, he rode seven miles to bring her a wasp’s nest and you don’t do that for no reason.’)

(Final scene – Roger and Molly climbing a hill in the desert.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 5:09 pm

    Yay trousers!

  2. kirstente permalink*
    June 4, 2010 5:29 pm

    Once my exams are properly over, I might actually write a proper feminist analysis of ‘Wives and Daughters.’

Leave a Reply

