Skip to content

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

May 12, 2010

That’s all I’ve got.

Even the BBC’s website has turned blue. That sad, cold colour that means that a man who seriously thinks that I would marry for a pathetic £3 per week tax break, a man whose consistent votes to lower the upper time limit for abortions show he won’t listen to science or reason, is now in power.

Although I’m not surprised to see that Nick “let-the-Tories-go-first” Clegg has formed a coalition government with them, I’m still upset. I still hoped. And, to be honest, one of the things I hoped was that the BBC would have to keep talking about the “rainbow alliance”*, which sounded like something I could support!

But it’s all over now. I’ll be 27 before I get to vote again. I wonder if Cameron’ll have found a way to penalise me for not staying chained to my kitchen by then.


*by “rainbow alliance”, they did not, sadly, mean that the gays were taking over the UK. It was actually a reference to the colours of all of the “progressive” parties – Labour (red); Lib Dems – until today! – (orange-yellow); Scottish National Party (yellow-yellow); and Plaid Cymru (dark green). Probably Caroline Lucas (Green – the colour matches the party) would’ve got involved too, on the grounds she’s not blue (Conservative), purple (UKIP) or.. well, I’m not sure what colour the BNP are meant to be, but, like them, it’s just a bit manky.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 4:04 am

    I finally got around to reading Midnight Never Come, thanks for the recommendation.

  2. May 14, 2010 9:36 am

    Did you enjoy it?

  3. May 14, 2010 5:47 pm

    Yes. I’m going to see about picking up a hardback copy, which would entail joining a science fiction book club. I intend to send this copy to a friend for her birthday.

Leave a Reply

