Skip to content

Quotes of the day – revision blogging

April 18, 2010

Because my British history course includes the feminist movement. No footnotes, because I don’t have to footnote in the exams.

Eleanor Rathbone – proposed motto of NUSEC (National Union of Societies for Equal Citizenship)- ‘I am a woman, and therefore everything that concerns women is of importance to me.’

Nancy Astor  – ‘When I listen to the opponents of the Bill*, I feel that I know women who could have twins every year and still be more efficient that some members of parliament.’

Gayle Rubin – ‘I, for one, did not join the women’s movement to be told how to be a good girl.’

Hazel Hunkins-Hallinan – On Thatcher – ‘a bit of a nuisance though, because she’s always the exception that men quote when they are trying to ruin your case’
On the Equal Opportunities Commission – ‘if they really thought it would fail, they wouldn’t be working so damn hard to stop it!’
And best of all – ‘Women can change society and I simply don’t understand why we aren’t raising hell.’

*1919 Sex Disqualification (Removal) Act

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 6:11 pm

    I love that Gayle Rubin quote, and wish I’d said it first!

Leave a Reply

