Skip to content

Genderfork

March 9, 2010

ETA – You know what I am?

Silly, that is what I am. And slightly behind the times. If by “slightly” I mean “6 months”. Kirsten, who is ahead of me in life, has already linked to Genderfork. But I’ll be leaving this post up, as proof of my silliness.

Today my flatmate introduced me to a website called Genderfork (“a supportive community for the expression of identities across the gender spectrum”).

It is pretty awesome, and also well-timed for me, because I inadvertantly ended up at Student Pride in Brighton this weekend. I’d just gone for my birthday, and suddenly I was in the middle of a big LGBT gathering! They had messages of support from Gordon Brown (“huh”, was the collective audience responce), David Cameron (“hah!”) and Nick Clegg (“woooo!”), and three comedians turned up to entertain us, two of whom (Rosie Wilby, Suzi Ruffell) were great. Since this is a happy blog, I say nothing about Jarred Christmas. I certainly can’t say anything good.


I also had a very silly exchange with a guy who was promoting chlamydia screenings for under-25s; this might be too much information, but it was funny, so…

Him: If you do a chlamydia test, we’ll enter you into a prize draw to win £100!

Me: Um, no thanks – I’m fine.

Him: Well, you know, it doesn’t have any symptoms, and lots of under-25s don’t realise they’ve been infected – especially lesbians, since you tend to get left out when it comes to sexual health information.

Me: Yeah, I know – but I’ve already had chlamydia, and I’m pretty certain it’s gone now.

Him: Well, um, that’s good, and that’s great you can say so, because there’s a lot of stigma attatched to having STIs…

me: [cheerfully] Oh, that’s ok – I’ll tell anyone!

him: [gives me an odd look, speaks to my friend] So… um… would you like to do a chlamydia test?


Poor guy. He had a script, and I messed it up!


Anyway, Genderfork. It is a pleasing website. I would write more, but I’m going to read their archives. Yay work avoidance!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. kirstente permalink*
    March 9, 2010 10:15 pm

    Ahem.

  2. March 10, 2010 6:27 pm

    Ha! Sorry – I suppose looking silly is what I get for not reading our own archives! I’ll edit 🙂

  3. kirstente permalink*
    March 10, 2010 7:34 pm

    Did you make a new section on the blog just so you won’t make the same mistake again?

  4. March 10, 2010 10:29 pm

    *shifty eyes*
    …. Maybe….!
    I need to go back through our archives for real though, to check I haven’t missed any again.

    (it seems to me that I would be happier not feeling silly, and you would feel happier if I didn’t forget people you’d already linked to, and Teaspoon is nothing if not a happy blog, so…!)

Leave a Reply

