Skip to content

Today In News

March 3, 2010

Is this good news? I can’t even tell. And am I a mean, vindictive person? Yes. Sometimes.

But, you know, sometimes it’s justified to be really, really pleased that somebody’s been fined nearly £2,700 for being a pillock. Especially when that someone is Nick Farage, better known as “that bastard from UKIP”. As I write this, I’m aware that he’s only doing these things (this time, being deliberately offensive to the President of the European Parliament, Herman van Rompuy), to get attention. Because sometimes being childish works well in politics. All I can think is: well, at least he’s had his pocket money stopped!

On the subject of money, the Lib Dems are talking about giving more to poor children, via their schools. It seems like a good plan in theory; basically, they’d allocate extra funding to schools for each child who recieves free school dinner, as opposed to allocating the funding based on the average local authority free dinner levels. If I read that correctly, it means each school would have their extra funding assigned individually, rather than every school in the borough getting the same extra funding. In practice, who knows – but the way this election year’s going, we might even find out.

In other news, the Lords have done good: they’ve voted for an amendment to the equalities bill which would mean that couples getting a civil partnership could have the ceremony in a place of worship. Which is nice. Interestingly, only two bishops actually voted, very neatly in fact; one for, one against.

And in other other news, because most news makes me a bit sad, yay bees! The Co-op likes bees, and is spending money training people to keep bees. Which of course leads me to Eddie Izzard:


Pertinent transcript (nicked from Wikiquote): “Beekeepers, yes … they’ve gotta want to be – “I want to be a beekeeper! I wanna keep bees! Don’t wanna let them get away; I wanna keep them! They have too much freedom … I want bees on elastic, so when they get pollen, they come back here! My father was a beekeeper before me, his father was a beekeeper before him; I wanna walk in their footsteps.” And their footsteps were like this: [running wildly from imaginary bees] “I’m covered in bees!””



No comments yet

Leave a Reply

