Skip to content

Judy Blume

September 1, 2009

This is the first of the thank you notes which I meant to be  a main part of this blog. But so far I have been lazy and mainly posted links to things. I posted something about her a while back on my other blog, but it was  less than happy.

Anyway, I think Judy Blume is a person who deserves thanks.  As a pre-teen I read many of her books – they were both an escape and an education. Forever in particular sticks out in my mind as a positive  and realistic potrayal of a respectful, happy sexual relationship between teenagers. Which is not something I came across a lot. And I read pretty much everything I could get my hands on.

Outside of her writing, Judy Blume has been a tireless campaigner for both freedom of speech and reproductive rights, despite serious opposition. Also, she blogs, which always endears me to writers.

When I sent a supportive message she (or one of her minions, maybe) sent a nice thank you note back. So I encourage you to do the same.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

